My Writing Challenge

Last year I brought out a novel. I put six months of planning and more money than I could afford into marketing it. The pre-orders were promising, then froze as the pandemic took hold. Despite the book been shortlisted for an award and getting good reviews from the few people who did read it, reaching people and convincing them to read it was almost impossible. This year, I’m focussing more on paid work such as copywriting, but I still have lots of projects I want to release, even though I don’t expect any of them to make many sales.

I’ve set myself a challenge. Between February 2021 and January 2022, I’m going to publish something every month. With all the ideas I have for short collections of poetry and prose, and a few novella length books, I want to get these started/completed, so I can move onto longer projects in 2022.

The first release will be the audiobook version of my YA novel, First Charge. While the eBook and paperback are already out, I have had to spend time listening to and approving each chapter of the audiobook. I feel I can count this as a new release.

My March release will most likely be a chapbook, with future projects including a sci-fi novella and a re-edited version of something I published when I was just starting out.

I’ll post links to each new release on this blog post.

Project 1First Charge on audiobook

Project 2Buy My Book: I Need Cats

Project 3 – Hidden Identities

Project 4 – Hope and Magic (Kindle or in paperback)

Project 5 – You Won’t Believe What Happens When You Buy This Book: A Spoof Clickbait Collection

Project 6 – Second Chances (sequel to Ghost of Me). This one is a little different. It’s not available as an eBook. Instead, it’s available to read on Medium (see chapter links below) or to buy as a paperback from Amazon in all countries including UK and US.

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

Chapter Five

Chapter Six

Chapter Seven

Chapter Eight

Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten

Project 7Lost and Found: Part 1 by Aleesha Black (penname) now available in audiobook

US link

UK link

Project 8 – From the Shadows (out 27th August)

Pre-order links:

Paperback UK

Paperback US

Kindle UK

Kindle US

Other eBook platforms

If Amazon shows as out of stock/unavailable, try here.

Project 9Little Splashes: A Flash Fiction Collection

Project 10What Do I Know?: Questions and Answers About Writing and Self-Publishing It’s also available on various eBook platforms

Project 11The Snow Was All We Could See

Project 12: Run Away With Me Again in Eight Words

Leave a comment